「単独旅行」Solo-Traveling is the Way!

Enjoying Autumn Foliage in Okayama University during Solo-Travel in Japan 2013

Enjoying Autumn Foliage in Okayama University during Solo-Travel in Japan 2013

Traveling alone is nothing new for backpackers/globetrotters out there and certainly for me. However, it is still a ‘last-resort’ for many around me, especially ladies.

Personally, I am an extrovert thru-and-thru (combination of sanguine & eagle+peacock). However, going thru the process of structured ‘tarbiah’ (self-development), I am shaped to be versatile and all-rounder to be able to fit and adapt to whatever situations and conditions. This is also reflected in my traveling style and preference. I love traveling with my familes and friends, especially if I can make them happy along the way. This suits perfectly with my personality. However, there are times that I would prefer to have all the space and time for my ownself and solo-travel is the answer.

My experience of solo-traveling started in 2007 when I went alone to Japan from New Zealand after a mere one-semester worth of Japanese class. It was really hard initially but all felt worth with the experiences and memories I have gained. The other times are in Tasmania, Australia in 2013 and Japan 2013/4. I will be going to Cambodia and Vietnam alone this October and my oh my am I excited for it? Definitely!

The Perks of Solo-Traveling for ME

  1. HAPPILY ON-TIME!
    I am very strict to time-adherence and with the personality of an ‘eagle’ , it annoys me to no end when people can easily be late without feeling any guilt (but trust me I work hard to be understanding, ‘husnudzhon’ and ‘lapang dada’ most of the time).When I am on my own, tara!! I can be ON TIME *blissful*. Though this seems simple and too small of a problem, it does affect greatly my mood and motivation.
  2. REFLECTION TIME
    Alone may easily be translated to being lonely. But, when traveling solo, I have all the time (if not engaged to gadgets) to reflect myself; how am I doing with my life, how far I am willing to go for my own happiness, am I being beneficial to others around me, do I still have prejudices to others, what can I do better.When traveling, I learn from others, about courage, self-determination, principled, gratitude, being responsible with my choice and decision. At the age of 30, I am in a crossroad on where my future will be. I decided to further my study in 2013 (and that was my first, big OWN decision I made) in International Relations after I met a few people during my travel, who bravely and responsibly decided their own course of life and pursued happiness. Although I am almost back to square-one, I am eager to learn more from others and to reflect and one day make my own decision. Hope it is not too late.
  3. IT’S ALL ON ME!
    Talking about ‘all-on-me’, it can be for better or for worse. Lets start with ‘for better’ and what motivate me to embark on solo-traveling and I mostly look forward for:
  • My Plan, My Way
    Having traveled quite extensively since I studied oversea for my First degree, I started to get bored doing almost the same things although at different destinations. I call it ‘Convenient Traveling’. It does not mean ‘guided traveling’ since I am only interested in ‘self-/independent traveling’. Of late, I did not get the chance to travel alone and spent my travel time bringing my family and friends around. Again, I enjoy traveling with people but I end up feeling tad bored having to limit the planning to suit the people I am traveling with.Now that it’s all on me, I am basically free to do whatever I like. Especially, walking/hiking. I am still an amateur in this area but I certainly am working to fill my experience with hiking/walking adventure from now on. I managed to do it during my study in Sydney and solo-travel in Tasmania. Sadly, I am yet to experience walking/hiking in Japan despite having been there for 6 times!
  • Meeting other Global Citizens
    I am a self-declared global citizen (and I am sticking to it!). I dream for ‘Ustaziyatul Alam’, plan to migrate in a few years time, hope to help people around the world and will always pray for the betterment for all *WORLD PEACE!*.

    With Rebecca. a solo-traveler from Germany in Central Australia

    With Rebecca. a solo-traveler from Germany in Central Australia

    When I travel alone, I have higher chances to make friends with other backpackers/globetrotters, especially fellow solo-trippers. I love staying at backpackers where I can meet people from around the world, with common interest and passion. I made friends with independent and good-hearted ladies from Brazil, Germany, Hong Kong, Brunei, Finland, England and of course Japan. I am expecting to meet more and learn more with me joining ‘Couchsurfing’ this year.

Now on to the down-side, or in a more positive term ‘opportunity costs’. Some of the opportunity costs of traveling alone that I have experienced and will experience are:

  • Selfie/Go-Pro/Tripod is necessary.
    I am not an avid photographer. I love being in a picture, not taking one. When I travel when my family or friends, I will always make sure I have those ‘photographers’ as amateurs as they are to do the job ㅋㅋㅋ ㅋ. So, when I am all alone, I wish I can just travel without a single photo for memories. But. behold! I certainly will get some scoldings from my Umi or my friends.I can still remember when I traveled alone to Japan (specifically Tokyo, Kyoto and Gunma) back in 2007. That was actually my first time to the beautiful country. I had to carry tripod everywhere (mobile phones were not as ‘smart’ back then) and there were times that other travelers offered to take photos for me seeing how struggling I was. But, voila, none of the pics turned not according to your liking.When I was traveling alone in Tasmania last year, mobile started to be smarter thus Miss Selfie did the job. Other times, I made friends with several solo-trippers and that saved the day!
  • Probably higher cost for transportation/accommodations
    This really depends on the destinations.For transportation, if you are traveling to places with good access and coverage of public transportation, the cost can be lower or the same as traveling in groups. But, the cost may escalate fast if you are traveling to places with limited access. I am definitely feeling it while planning for solo-trip to Cambodia/Vietnam since I cannot share out my tuk-tuk cost. I hope to find somebody to join me to reduce the cost per person. But, in places like Japan, the cost won’t be affected much since I can easily use public transportation.For accommodation, the cost won’t affect much if you are sticking to bunk beds in backpackers. But, sometimes, in this case in Cambodia, it is slightly cheaper to get a double/twin private room per person than a bunk bed in shared dormitory. Of course the are pros/cons staying in private room vs. dorms.

Next post, insyaAllah I will share on what is needed to travel solo and my travel plan for Cambodia and Vietnam.

Till then!

I am offering travel-planning service for independent travel to countries that I have visited (HERE) . Check out HERE for more info!

Leave a comment